Kingston University London, situated in the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames in South West London, England, traces its origins back to the establishment of the Kingston Technical Institute in 1899. Attaining university status in 1992, it was formerly known as Kingston Polytechnic.

With an enrollment of approximately 17,000 students and a turnover of £192 million, Kingston University operates across four campuses in Kingston and Roehampton. The university specializes in arts, design, fashion, science, engineering, and business, organized into four faculties: Kingston School of Art, Faculty of Business and Social Sciences (comprising Kingston Business School and the School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences), Faculty of Health, Science, Social Care and Education, and Faculty of Engineering, Computing and the Environment. Kingston Business School holds accreditation for the CNAA MBA degree. In recognition of teaching excellence, the university received The Guardian University Award in 2017.

Kingston University is affiliated with the European University Association, the Association of Commonwealth Universities, and the University Alliance group. The University's Town House, inaugurated in January 2020, garnered prestigious accolades in 2021 and 2022, winning the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Stirling Prize for the best new building in the UK and the Mies van der Rohe architecture award for the best building in the EU.

In June 2021, Kingston University initiated the Future Skills campaign, emphasizing the significance of skills for innovation and their pivotal role in fostering a robust UK economy. Surveys conducted in 2021 and 2022, with support from YouGov and involving over 2,000 businesses and 1,000 students, underscored the enduring importance of skills such as problem-solving, critical thinking, communication, adaptability, and creativity, which are highly valued by employers.

Rankings and Esteem

Kingston University's standing in higher education is reflected in various rankings and accolades. According to The Guardian, it secured the 45th position out of 128 surveyed universities, showcasing its strong position within the academic landscape. The Times/The Sunday Times Guide for 2022 placed Kingston University at no. 92 in its Good University Guide.

In a notable achievement, Kingston claimed the top spot in 2018 among 121 institutions for its graphic design and product design courses, as recognized by The Guardian in 2017. The university received further acclaim in the same year by winning The Guardian University Award for teaching excellence.

The Guardian University Guide for 2020 places Kingston among the top 40 universities in the UK, underscoring its consistent high performance. Additionally, the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 2019 positioned Kingston in the top 250 globally for Business & Economics. The "QS World University Rankings" for 2020 designated Kingston within the top 140 for Global MBA rankings.

A significant milestone for Kingston University was attaining a Gold rating in the Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) in September 2023. This prestigious recognition extends to achieving Gold awards in the TEF's new student experience and student outcomes categories. Kingston now joins an exclusive group of 26 universities and colleges in the United Kingdom, including esteemed institutions like Oxford, Cambridge, Exeter, and Warwick, in earning TEF Gold across all three categories.

Organizational Structure of Kingston University

Teaching and research at Kingston University are structured into four faculties:

  1. Kingston School of Art (KSA): Originally established in 1899 as part of the Kingston Technical Institute, KSA has undergone various transformations over the years. It separated from the Technical College in 1930, moved to Knights Park in 1939, and became Kingston College of Art in 1945. After merging with the Technical College to form Kingston Polytechnic in 1970, it eventually became Kingston University in 1992. From 2017, it reverted to its historic name, offering undergraduate and postgraduate programs across three schools.
  2. Faculty of Business and Social Sciences: This faculty combines Kingston Business School and the School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences. Kingston Business School, with roots dating back to the 1960s, gained approval for its Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree in 1985. The Business School, situated at Kingston Hill Campus, is organized into four departments.
  3. Faculty of Health, Science, Social Care and Education: Established in August 2022, this faculty encompasses various courses, including nursing, midwifery, social work, and teacher training education. It also includes life sciences and chemistry and pharmacy courses. This faculty emerged following the termination of a partnership between Kingston University and St George's, University of London. It operates at Kingston Hill and Penrhyn Road campuses.
  4. Faculty of Engineering, Computing and the Environment: Founded in August 2022, this faculty offers courses in mechanical, civil and aerospace engineering, computing, cyber security, quantity surveying, and geography. Located at Penrhyn Road and Roehampton Vale campuses, it provides a diverse range of programs.

In addition to its faculties, Kingston University oversees galleries and museums, including the Stanley Picker Gallery, which serves as an exhibition space for research-based projects. The university also manages Dorich House Museum, housing sculptor Dora Gordine's work and Russian Imperial art, and serving as a venue for meetings and conferences.

    Please prove you are human by selecting the car.