Leeds Beckett University (LBU), previously recognized as Leeds Metropolitan University (LMU) and initially as Leeds Polytechnic, stands as a public university in Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. With campuses situated in the city center and Headingley, its roots trace back to 1824 when the Leeds Mechanics Institute was established. The transformation into Leeds Polytechnic occurred in 1970, initially operating under the Leeds Local Education Authority until gaining independence as a Higher Education Corporation on April 1, 1989. Achieving university status in 1992, the institution officially adopted its current name in September 2014.

In the fiscal year 2016–17, the university reported an annual income of £221.4 million, with £3.4 million sourced from grants and contracts, and an expenditure of £217.1 million.


National Rankings (2024):

  • Complete: 66
  • Guardian: 102
  • Times / Sunday Times: 107

Global Rankings (2024):

  • QS: 1001–1200
  • THE: 801–1000

In November 2006, the university garnered the award for "outstanding contribution to the local community" at The Times Higher Education Supplement's annual higher education awards ceremony. Additionally, it secured the second position in the prestigious "University of the Year" category, with commendation for its effective "low-charging, high impact" strategy, although the top spot went to the University of Nottingham.

In June 2007, Leeds Beckett University earned recognition for its commitment to sustainability by clinching the top spot in the UK Green League 2007, a ranking of sustainability in higher education compiled by People & Planet.

By achieving the Customer Service Excellence standard in June 2013, Leeds Beckett University became the third university in the UK to receive this Government benchmark, showcasing a dedication to customer-focused organizational change.

The year 2013 marked another milestone as the university attained the Gold Investors in People standard, distinguishing it as one of the few higher education institutions to achieve this recognition.

In January 2015, Leeds Beckett University proudly entered Stonewall's nationally recognized league table of gay-friendly employers, securing the 51st position in the rankings.

Organizational Structure and Leadership

Academic Units

The university comprises the following schools:

  1. Art, Architecture, and Design
  2. Built Environment & Engineering
  3. Business
  4. Clinical & Applied Sciences
  5. Computing, Creating Technologies & Engineering
  6. Cultural Studies and Humanities
  7. Education
  8. Events, Tourism & Hospitality Management
  9. Film, Music & Performing Arts
  10. Health & Community Studies
  11. Law
  12. Department of Languages
  13. Social Sciences
  14. Sport

Leeds Law School

Leeds Law School provides a range of undergraduate, postgraduate, and professional law courses, alongside housing a Law Research Unit. Postgraduate offerings encompass the Legal Practice Course (LPC) and the conversion course, the Graduate Diploma in Law. Undergraduate courses include the LLB (Hons) Law. Deveral Capps, appointed in February 2015, serves as the Dean of Leeds Law School.

Situated in the Leeds city centre at Portland (53.7968°N 1.5487°W), Leeds Law School offers dedicated facilities such as a Mock Courtroom, Hydra Foundation Suite, study spaces, and a Postgraduate Resource Room.

    Please prove you are human by selecting the tree.